Heaven: A place on Earth

The silent lake, stood quite still,
Observing the tourists pass by
The mountains high above, kissing the sky,
The birds resting nearby.

I climbed out of the vehicle
After that long, tiring journey
The breeze gently blowing in my hair,
My eyes captivated by the miracle that lay in front of me!

Standing completely mesmerised,
I walked towards the lake
That was surrounded by shabby, brown mountains,
But stood elegant in its place.

“It is a speechless sight”, I had heard
“And colourful in a different way”,
But to actually see the different shades of blue, green, red, made me then believe,
That it was the most wonderful lake!

As I strolled the edge, contemplating
The gifts of God to mankind,
It heard someone, call my name
And I realised it was getting late.

The sun’s last rays
Turned the water to gold,
And the Lake watched,
As yet another tourist
Turned their back on her.

-TM

Leave a Reply

